1930s Magazines · Al Bowlly · Blog posts · Radio

Pilot Radio Sets, 1938.

Radio Pictorial, September the 16th, 1938.

An advertisement for radio sets with a new concept back in 1938: push buttons to take the listener to another channel, instead of turning the dial. Move over DAB radio! Below is an actual Pilot radio set in action. This one is the usual one, with a dial to tune in. I love its Art Deco appearance. The way it sits there on the sideboard proudly!

Front cover of the September the 16th, 1938 issue of Radio Pictorial.

I’m very glad there was no modern pop music coming out of it; doesn’t seem right that these old radios should have those sounds coming out of them. My Camry CD retro radio has never been tuned into any radio station; instead I just play CDs on it of 1930s dance band music. I’ve got some Ray Noble CDs that are from his American radio broadcasts, so that gives a great atmosphere of listening to a vintage broadcast.

On the page of the advert are tips from various chaps on “how to get the most of your set.” I am not at all technical, so I don’t know if these tips and suggestions are equally as helpful to the modern collector of old radio sets. I thought it would still be of interest to such fellows, so a pdf of the page is below.

This issue of Radio Pictorial also contained a full page feature photograph of Al Bowlly: on that night he was going to be on the BBC radio show Give Me Air, aired at 7.30 pm. I wonder what he sang

Leave a comment