Blog posts

Winter Scenes in 1930s Britain.

Unlike most people (it seems!) I’m not a “Christmassy” person, so my blog has been quiet this month. I have never had an Xmas tree, baubles or tinsel decorate my home! Winter is my least favourite month too: I dislike the cold weather and the short dull days. It makes me lethargic and wishing the Spring was here already. I thrive on sunshine and long days. However, I did find the following footage of winter scenes from the 1930s rather interesting to watch.

This one is even shot in colour!

I don’t know what year in the decade the one below was filmed, but it is said to be “the coldest December of the century.” Bizarrely there was a draught and you’ll see women queuing up to collect water from a standpipe in the street. A draught in winter is very unusual!

2 thoughts on “Winter Scenes in 1930s Britain.

  1. When I was young, it was very common for pipes to freeze solid in the winter, and to sometimes have to collect water from tankers or standpipes, even in London. Like most older people, I recall winters as being much harsher, and summers as longer and sunnier.
    At least the sun is shining in Beetley this morning.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    1. It’s not all that strange to have very dry and very cold weather at the same time. Of course here in New Mexico drought (not draught) is a strong possibility in any season.

      The day when the women were collecting water, it must not have been as cold, since they’re dressed relatively lightly.

      Quite interesting seeing those little snippets of winter life nearly a century ago.

      There’s a lot to be said for Christmas lights, even if one doesn’t want trees or tinsel, around the house to help dispel those winter doldrums! We have strings of colored lights around the edges of the ceiling in our living room, and we light them in the evenings through most of the winter to add a bit of cheerfulness and warmth.

      Anyway, wishing you all the best for the new year!

Leave a comment